Equality, diversity, and inclusion

I was recently asked why equality, diversity, and inclusion are important to me, and here's my answer

Equality, diversity, and inclusion

On the occasion of Pride Month, here are my thoughts on the significance of equality, diversity, and inclusion.

Equality:

Having been diagnosed with a long-term mental health illness myself, I know firsthand how difficult it is to function and lead a normal life with a long-term illness. In the larger scheme of things, I believe that ensuring equality is the right thing to do. It is why we give our seats to the elderly and physically challenged in the tube. It is also why we give preference to families with kids to board airplanes first. I believe that nobody should have poorer opportunities because of the way they were born, their gender, their sexual orientation, their religion, their race, where they come from, what they believe in, or whether they have a disability.

Diversity:

In any job, problem-solving and critical thinking are essential skills. Diversity fosters one to see the world differently and therefore solve problems differently. If a team is diverse, they have different perspectives and points of view on the table. Different perspectives lead to a better understanding of the problem and therefore provide better solutions.

Inclusion:

Inclusion and diversity go hand in hand. One cannot be achieved without the other. Inclusion helps to build a strong sense of connection and belonging, and this in turn makes everyone contribute better. It is important to me that everyone on my team feel like they belong to one team, where they are loved and respected for the skills they bring to the table.

image.png Credit: sustainablebizconsulting.com

Therefore, all three traits - equality, diversity, and inclusion are important to me.

Here's a picture of me standing as a proud ally to all my LGBTQ+ friends.

abhiram pride.jpg Credits: Jai

PS: Pride Month is celebrated from June 1 - 30 every year to honor the 1969 Stonewall Uprising in Manhattan.

P.P.S: The cover photo is the Pride Month flag taken from awarenessdays.com.